# ADU (accessory dwelling unit) cost in Richmond | Costolio

URL: https://costolio.com/home/adu-construction-cost/richmond/
Updated: 2026-11-02

# ADU (accessory dwelling unit) cost in Richmond

In Richmond, the median declared value on 191 adu (accessory dwelling unit) permits issued 2022-01-05 to 2025-04-22 was $97,000, according to PermitTrak permit data (checked 2026-11-02).

n = 191 permits

Median$97,000

25th percentile$64,750

75th percentile$140,000

## ADU (accessory dwelling unit) cost in Richmond: permit figures

191 permits · 2022-01-05 to 2025-04-22 · [PermitTrak](https://www.transparentrichmond.org/d/qg2r-652v)
| Figure | Value |
| Median | $97,000 |
| 25th percentile | $64,750 |
| 75th percentile | $140,000 |

How this was counted191 permits · 2022-01-05 to 2025-04-22 · Source: [PermitTrak](https://www.transparentrichmond.org/d/qg2r-652v) · Filter: https://www.transparentrichmond.org/resource/qg2r-652v.json?$where=(issued like '% 2022 %' OR issued like '% 2023 %' OR issued like '% 2024 %' OR issued like '% 2025 %' OR issued like '% 2026 %') (paged by :id) ; rule: code: subtype ~ /\bADU\b/i ; minus exclusions /SOLAR|\bPV\b|WATER HEATER|RE-?ROOF|PANEL UPGRADE|\bEV\b|(REPAIR|REMODEL|ALTERATION)S? (TO|OF|IN) (AN |THE )?(EXISTING|EXIST\.?|\(E\)) (J?ADU|ACCESSORY)|LEGALIZ|REVISION|SUPPLEMENT/ ; residential only ; cost>0 · Pulled: 2026-11-02T14:19:22-08:00 · Checked on: 2026-11-02

## What a adu (accessory dwelling unit) permit usually covers

Building a new accessory dwelling unit, or converting a garage or other space into one. Usually the new unit's structure, foundation, framing, plumbing, electrical and mechanical work the city inspects. Site work, utility connection fees, design fees, appliances and furnishings are often priced or listed separately.

## ADU (accessory dwelling unit) in Richmond compared with other places

Among the 3 places where we have adu (accessory dwelling unit) figures, Richmond has the median at position 2 from lowest. Lower medians: Los Angeles. Higher medians: San Diego.

Other Richmond projects with figures: Electrical panel upgrade.

Read this first. Permit values are self-reported by the applicant to set permit fees. They often leave out materials or labor, and they are not what the contractor actually charged. A quote above or below this range can be reasonable.

## About this Richmond sample

- 191 permits after dropping $0 or blank values (0% of keyword matches had no cost)
- cost field jobvalue in PermitTrak
- permits issued 2022-01-05 to 2025-04-22

## ADU (accessory dwelling unit) permits in Richmond by year

73 of these permits were issued in 2023, the busiest year in this sample. Counting only full years, the number of permits went up in 2023, then down in 2024. The median declared value went up in 2023, then down in 2024. 2022 and 2025 are partial years here, so their counts are lower.

ADU (accessory dwelling unit) permits and median in Richmond by year
| Year issued | Permits | Median |
| 2022 | 49 | $97,000 |
| 2023 | 73 | $105,000 |
| 2024 | 56 | $77,500 |
| 2025 | 13 | fewer than 30 permits |

By month issued, the busiest months were April, March, January, and the quietest were September, July, December.

## What the Richmond adu (accessory dwelling unit) permits describe

We read the description each applicant wrote, leave out the standard wording the city adds to every permit, and sort the permit by the words it uses. The permit type the city chose is not used here. Where the description does not say, we count it as not stated. The most common kind here is garage conversion ADU.

- Garage conversion ADU: 58 permits (30%), median $72,410
- Detached ADU: 57 permits (30%), median $125,000
- ADU, type not given: 23 permits (12%)
- Junior ADU: 21 permits (11%)
- Attached ADU: 15 permits (8%)
- Not stated in the description: 17 permits (9%)

## Other work listed on the same Richmond permits

Out of 191 Richmond adu (accessory dwelling unit) permits with a description of their own, 2 (1.0%) also mention structural or framing.

## How we matched adu (accessory dwelling unit) permits in Richmond

We count a permit when its permit sub-type in the Richmond dataset contains the word “ADU”. We leave out permits whose description mentions solar, solar panels, water heaters, reroofing, panel upgrades, EV chargers, repairs or remodels of an existing ADU, legalizing existing work, permit revisions or permit supplements. We keep only permits for homes, not commercial buildings, and only permits with a declared value above $0.

Counted from the same 191 permits as the figures above (2022-01-05 to 2025-04-22). Source: [PermitTrak](https://www.transparentrichmond.org/d/qg2r-652v).

## Related

- [ADU (accessory dwelling unit) in Los Angeles](https://costolio.com/home/adu-construction-cost/los-angeles/)
- [ADU (accessory dwelling unit) in San Diego](https://costolio.com/home/adu-construction-cost/san-diego/)
- [All costs in Richmond](https://costolio.com/home/cities/richmond/)
- [Compare my quote with permit records](https://costolio.com/home/quote-check/?project=adu-construction&city=richmond)

[Got a quote?See where it sits next to these permit values.](https://costolio.com/home/quote-check/?project=adu-construction&city=richmond)
