Costolio

Electrical panel upgrade cost in Elk Grove

In Elk Grove, the median declared value on 308 electrical panel upgrade permits issued to was $4,202, according to TRAKiT Building Permits permit data (checked ).

n = 308 permits
Median$4,202
25th percentile$3,000
75th percentile$5,850

Electrical panel upgrade cost in Elk Grove: permit figures

308 permits · 2022-05-23 to 2026-10-30 · TRAKiT Building Permits
FigureValue
Median$4,202
25th percentile$3,000
75th percentile$5,850
How this was counted

308 permits · 2022-05-23 to 2026-10-30 · Source: TRAKiT Building Permits · Filter: https://webmaps.elkgrove.gov/arcgis/rest/services/AGOL/TRAKiT_Building_Permits/FeatureServer/0/query where=(1=1) AND ISSUED_DATE >= DATE '2022-01-01' ; rule: code: PERMIT_SUB_TYPE IN (REPLACE AND OR UPGRADE UP TO 200AMPS) ; residential only ; cost>0 · Pulled: 2026-11-02T14:19:22-08:00 · Checked on: 2026-11-02

What a electrical panel upgrade permit usually covers

Replacing or upsizing the main electrical panel or service. Usually the new panel or service equipment, breakers and grounding the inspector checks. Utility work on their side of the meter, wall patching and new circuits elsewhere in the home are often separate.

Electrical panel upgrade in Elk Grove compared with other places

Among the 4 places where we have electrical panel upgrade figures, Elk Grove has the median at position 2 from lowest. Lower medians: Richmond. Higher medians: Marin County, Santa Monica.

Other Elk Grove projects with figures: Water heater replacement, HVAC replacement, Window replacement, Seismic retrofit (foundation).

Read this first. Permit values are self-reported by the applicant to set permit fees. They often leave out materials or labor, and they are not what the contractor actually charged. A quote above or below this range can be reasonable.

About this Elk Grove sample

  • 308 permits after dropping $0 or blank values (0% of keyword matches had no cost)
  • cost field JOB_VALUE in TRAKiT Building Permits
  • permits issued 2022-05-23 to 2026-10-30

Electrical panel upgrade permits in Elk Grove by year

118 of these permits were issued in 2026, the busiest year in this sample. Counting only full years, the number of permits went up in 2024, then about the same in 2025. The median declared value went up in 2024, then about the same in 2025. 2022 and 2026 are partial years here, so their counts are lower.

Electrical panel upgrade permits and median in Elk Grove by year
Year issuedPermitsMedian
202226fewer than 30 permits
202346$3,500
202458$3,925
202560$3,912
2026118$5,000

By month issued, the busiest months were September, October, June, and the quietest were April, January, November.

What the Elk Grove electrical panel upgrade permits describe

We read the description each applicant wrote, leave out the standard wording the city adds to every permit, and sort the permit by the words it uses. The permit type the city chose is not used here. Where the description does not say, we count it as not stated. The most common kind here is 200 amps named.

  • 200 amps named: 170 permits (55%), median $4,000
  • Less than 200 amps named: 121 permits (39%), median $4,750
  • Not stated in the description: 7 permits (2%)

10 permits are in groups we leave out because our spot check of their descriptions found fewer than 80% labelled correctly.

Other work listed on the same Elk Grove permits

None of the 308 Elk Grove electrical panel upgrade permit descriptions we read mention other major work alongside it.

How we matched electrical panel upgrade permits in Elk Grove

We count a permit when its permit sub-type in the Elk Grove dataset is “Replace and or upgrade up to 200amps”. We keep only permits for homes, not commercial buildings, and only permits with a declared value above $0.

Counted from the same 308 permits as the figures above (2022-05-23 to 2026-10-30). Source: TRAKiT Building Permits.

Related

Contains data from Marin County (all jurisdictions in dataset), under the Open Data Commons ODbL (share-alike).

Updated