# Electrical panel upgrade cost in Marin County | Costolio

URL: https://costolio.com/home/electrical-panel-upgrade-cost/marin-county/
Updated: 2026-11-02

# Electrical panel upgrade cost in Marin County

In Marin County, the median declared value on 1579 electrical panel upgrade permits issued 2022-01-03 to 2026-10-16 was $4,500, according to Building Permit permit data (checked 2026-11-02).

n = 1579 permits

Median$4,500

25th percentile$3,000

75th percentile$6,800

## Electrical panel upgrade cost in Marin County: permit figures

1579 permits · 2022-01-03 to 2026-10-16 · [Building Permit](https://data.marincounty.gov/d/mkbn-caye)
| Figure | Value |
| Median | $4,500 |
| 25th percentile | $3,000 |
| 75th percentile | $6,800 |

How this was counted1579 permits · 2022-01-03 to 2026-10-16 · Source: [Building Permit](https://data.marincounty.gov/d/mkbn-caye) · Filter: https://data.marincounty.gov/resource/mkbn-caye.json?$where=issued_date >= '2022-01-01' (paged by :id) ; rule: keyword /(SERVICE|PANEL)S? (UPGRADE|CHANGE|REPLACE)|UPGRADE (THE |EXISTING |EXIST\.? |\(E\) |MAIN |ELECTRICAL )*(SERVICE|PANEL|MSP)|\bMSP\b|MAIN SERVICE PANEL|MAIN PANEL|MAIN BREAKER|\b[1-4]\d0 ?(AMPS?|A)\b/ AND NOT /SOLAR|PHOTOVOLTAIC|\bPV\b|NEW (SFD|S\.?F\.?D|SINGLE[- ]FAMILY|DWELLING|HOUSE|HOME|BUILDING|\d+[- ]STORY|DUPLEX|CONDO|APARTMENT)|\bADU\b|EV CHARG|\bEVSE?\b|TEMPORARY|TEMP POWER|BATTERY|ADDITION|REMODEL|TENANT|GENERATOR/ ; residential only ; cost>0 · Pulled: 2026-11-02T14:19:22-08:00 · Checked on: 2026-11-02 · Contains data from Marin County (all jurisdictions in dataset), made available under the [Open Data Commons ODbL](https://opendatacommons.org/licenses/odbl/1-0/)

## What a electrical panel upgrade permit usually covers

Replacing or upsizing the main electrical panel or service. Usually the new panel or service equipment, breakers and grounding the inspector checks. Utility work on their side of the meter, wall patching and new circuits elsewhere in the home are often separate.

## Electrical panel upgrade in Marin County compared with other places

Among the 4 places where we have electrical panel upgrade figures, Marin County has the median at position 3 from lowest. Lower medians: Richmond, Elk Grove. Higher medians: Santa Monica.

Other Marin County projects with figures: Water heater replacement, Pool installation, Seismic retrofit (foundation).

Read this first. Permit values are self-reported by the applicant to set permit fees. They often leave out materials or labor, and they are not what the contractor actually charged. A quote above or below this range can be reasonable.

## About this Marin County sample

- 1579 permits after dropping $0 or blank values (0% of keyword matches had no cost)
- cost field construction_value in Building Permit
- permits issued 2022-01-03 to 2026-10-16

## Electrical panel upgrade permits in Marin County by year

418 of these permits were issued in 2023, the busiest year in this sample. Counting only full years, the number of permits went up in 2023, then down in 2024, then down in 2025. The median declared value went up in 2023, then about the same in 2024, then up in 2025. 2022 and 2026 are partial years here, so their counts are lower.

Electrical panel upgrade permits and median in Marin County by year
| Year issued | Permits | Median |
| 2022 | 356 | $4,028 |
| 2023 | 418 | $4,500 |
| 2024 | 379 | $4,500 |
| 2025 | 360 | $5,000 |
| 2026 | 66 | $5,000 |

By month issued, the busiest months were January, September, October, and the quietest were February, November, August.

## What the Marin County electrical panel upgrade permits describe

We read the description each applicant wrote, leave out the standard wording the city adds to every permit, and sort the permit by the words it uses. The permit type the city chose is not used here. Where the description does not say, we count it as not stated. The most common kind here is 200 amps named.

- 200 amps named: 861 permits (55%), median $4,500
- Less than 200 amps named: 377 permits (24%), median $3,500
- Panel or service, size not stated: 243 permits (15%), median $4,005
- More than 200 amps named: 66 permits (4%), median $8,750
- Panel rating not clear: 9 permits (1%)
- Not stated in the description: 23 permits (1%)

## Other work listed on the same Marin County permits

Out of 1,579 Marin County electrical panel upgrade permits with a description of their own, 19 (1.2%) also mention mechanical or HVAC; 16 (1.0%) also mention plumbing; 16 (1.0%) also mention windows or doors; 2 (0.1%) also mention structural or framing.

## How we matched electrical panel upgrade permits in Marin County

Marin County has no permit type for this work, so we count a permit when its description mentions panel or service upgrade, main panel, main breaker or a 100 to 400 amp size. We leave out permits whose description mentions solar, solar panels, new homes and buildings, ADUs, EV chargers, temporary work, temporary power, batteries, additions, remodels, tenant work or generators. We keep only permits for homes, not commercial buildings, and only permits with a declared value above $0.

## Electrical panel upgrade across the Bay Area

Putting together every electrical panel upgrade permit on a published page in the Bay Area (Marin County, Richmond) gives 2,417 permits with a combined median of $4,000. Marin County supplies 65% of them, and its own median is 12% higher than the combined one. Each place covers its own dates, so treat this as a rough guide. This combined figure includes Marin County data, made available under the [Open Data Commons ODbL](https://opendatacommons.org/licenses/odbl/1-0/), so it is shared under the same license (share-alike). Contains data from Marin County (all jurisdictions in dataset).

Counted from the same 1579 permits as the figures above (2022-01-03 to 2026-10-16). Source: [Building Permit](https://data.marincounty.gov/d/mkbn-caye).

Contains data from Marin County (all jurisdictions in dataset) ([source](http://www.socrata.com/terms-of-service)), made available under the [Open Data Commons ODbL](https://opendatacommons.org/licenses/odbl/1-0/). Figures derived from it are shared under the same license (share-alike).

## Related

- [Electrical panel upgrade in Elk Grove](https://costolio.com/home/electrical-panel-upgrade-cost/elk-grove/)
- [Electrical panel upgrade in Richmond](https://costolio.com/home/electrical-panel-upgrade-cost/richmond/)
- [All costs in Marin County](https://costolio.com/home/cities/marin-county/)
- [Compare my quote with permit records](https://costolio.com/home/quote-check/?project=electrical-panel-upgrade&city=marin-county)

[Got a quote?See where it sits next to these permit values.](https://costolio.com/home/quote-check/?project=electrical-panel-upgrade&city=marin-county)
