# Electrical panel upgrade cost in Richmond | Costolio

URL: https://costolio.com/home/electrical-panel-upgrade-cost/richmond/
Updated: 2026-11-02

# Electrical panel upgrade cost in Richmond

In Richmond, the median declared value on 838 electrical panel upgrade permits issued 2022-01-03 to 2025-04-21 was $3,300, according to PermitTrak permit data (checked 2026-11-02).

n = 838 permits

Median$3,300

25th percentile$2,500

75th percentile$5,000

## Electrical panel upgrade cost in Richmond: permit figures

838 permits · 2022-01-03 to 2025-04-21 · [PermitTrak](https://www.transparentrichmond.org/d/qg2r-652v)
| Figure | Value |
| Median | $3,300 |
| 25th percentile | $2,500 |
| 75th percentile | $5,000 |

How this was counted838 permits · 2022-01-03 to 2025-04-21 · Source: [PermitTrak](https://www.transparentrichmond.org/d/qg2r-652v) · Filter: https://www.transparentrichmond.org/resource/qg2r-652v.json?$where=(issued like '% 2022 %' OR issued like '% 2023 %' OR issued like '% 2024 %' OR issued like '% 2025 %' OR issued like '% 2026 %') (paged by :id) ; rule: code: subtype IN (SERVICE UPGRADE) ; residential only ; cost>0 · Pulled: 2026-11-02T14:19:22-08:00 · Checked on: 2026-11-02

## What a electrical panel upgrade permit usually covers

Replacing or upsizing the main electrical panel or service. Usually the new panel or service equipment, breakers and grounding the inspector checks. Utility work on their side of the meter, wall patching and new circuits elsewhere in the home are often separate.

## Electrical panel upgrade in Richmond compared with other places

Among the 4 places where we have electrical panel upgrade figures, Richmond has the median at position 1 from lowest. Richmond has the lowest median of these. Higher medians: Elk Grove, Marin County, Santa Monica.

Other Richmond projects with figures: ADU (accessory dwelling unit).

Read this first. Permit values are self-reported by the applicant to set permit fees. They often leave out materials or labor, and they are not what the contractor actually charged. A quote above or below this range can be reasonable.

## About this Richmond sample

- 838 permits after dropping $0 or blank values (0% of keyword matches had no cost)
- cost field jobvalue in PermitTrak
- permits issued 2022-01-03 to 2025-04-21

## Electrical panel upgrade permits in Richmond by year

273 of these permits were issued in 2022, the busiest year in this sample. Counting only full years, the number of permits went down in 2023, then down in 2024. The median declared value went up in 2023, then up in 2024. 2022 and 2025 are partial years here, so their counts are lower.

Electrical panel upgrade permits and median in Richmond by year
| Year issued | Permits | Median |
| 2022 | 273 | $3,000 |
| 2023 | 251 | $3,500 |
| 2024 | 229 | $4,000 |
| 2025 | 85 | $3,500 |

By month issued, the busiest months were March, August, February, and the quietest were June, November, December.

## What the Richmond electrical panel upgrade permits describe

We read the description each applicant wrote, leave out the standard wording the city adds to every permit, and sort the permit by the words it uses. The permit type the city chose is not used here. Where the description does not say, we count it as not stated. The most common kind here is 200 amps named.

- 200 amps named: 484 permits (58%), median $4,000
- Less than 200 amps named: 171 permits (20%), median $2,500
- Panel or service, size not stated: 117 permits (14%), median $3,000
- Panel rating not clear: 32 permits (4%), median $2,500
- Not stated in the description: 31 permits (4%), median $3,000

3 permits are in groups too small to show (fewer than 30 permits clearly name that rating).

## Other work listed on the same Richmond permits

None of the 837 Richmond electrical panel upgrade permit descriptions we read mention other major work alongside it.

## How we matched electrical panel upgrade permits in Richmond

We count a permit when its permit sub-type in the Richmond dataset is “Service upgrade”. We keep only permits for homes, not commercial buildings, and only permits with a declared value above $0.

## Electrical panel upgrade across the Bay Area

Putting together every electrical panel upgrade permit on a published page in the Bay Area (Marin County, Richmond) gives 2,417 permits with a combined median of $4,000. Richmond supplies 35% of them, and its own median is 18% lower than the combined one. Each place covers its own dates, so treat this as a rough guide. This combined figure includes Marin County data, made available under the [Open Data Commons ODbL](https://opendatacommons.org/licenses/odbl/1-0/), so it is shared under the same license (share-alike). Contains data from Marin County (all jurisdictions in dataset).

Counted from the same 838 permits as the figures above (2022-01-03 to 2025-04-21). Source: [PermitTrak](https://www.transparentrichmond.org/d/qg2r-652v).

## Related

- [Electrical panel upgrade in Elk Grove](https://costolio.com/home/electrical-panel-upgrade-cost/elk-grove/)
- [Electrical panel upgrade in Marin County](https://costolio.com/home/electrical-panel-upgrade-cost/marin-county/)
- [All costs in Richmond](https://costolio.com/home/cities/richmond/)
- [Compare my quote with permit records](https://costolio.com/home/quote-check/?project=electrical-panel-upgrade&city=richmond)

[Got a quote?See where it sits next to these permit values.](https://costolio.com/home/quote-check/?project=electrical-panel-upgrade&city=richmond)
